The last of the collegiate division championships was up next.  In the Men’s Division, returning finalist Texas-Rio Grande Valley was rolling through the pool play before hitting a very tough opponent in the semifinal.  Their determination allowed them to make it to the finals.  Georgia College, seen by some as underdogs, fought their way through the pool play and elimination rounds as well, earning their spot into the national championship game.

The first half of the championship game was a back and forth affair.  Armando Garz of Texas-RGV was red hot, throwing three touchdown passes to Rolando Diaz, Isaac Martinez, and Salvador Martinez.  However, Mitch Risley and Georgia College would not go away that easily.  Risley tossed two touchdowns of his own, one to Andrew Prestwood and one to David Youngblood.  Michael LaHood also added two tackles for loss for Georgia College.  At the end of the half, the scored favored Texas-RGV 21-14.

The second halfsaw just as much furious action as the first half.  Georgia College would strike first, from Risley to Cleve Warnock.  Texas-RGV would answer back with a touchdown throw from Garza to Isaac Martinez.  With continuous scoring in the 3rd and 4th quarters, it would be Texas-RGV that would pull ahead with two more touchdowns versus Georgia College’s one.  When the smoke cleared, Texas-RGV would stand victorious, 40-26

The University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley is your 2018 NIRSA Men’s National Champion!