Two high-powered offenses met here at 10:30am local time.  The UANL Tigres and the 2017 National Champion Florida Gators have been outscoring opponents left and right throughout pool play and the playoffs.  But now, it was time to see who the dominant team was in the 2018 NIRSA Flag Football Women’s National Championship.

The first half of the game was all Gators, as Olivia Salzman hit Megan Bohan twice for touchdowns, both in the 2nd quarter of play.  It seems like the Gators had an answer for every defensive scheme the Tigres threw at them.  Precision passing was the key to the explosive offense.  The defense for Florida was stifling as well, with three Florida players recording interceptions, and the rushing pressure of Amanda Chromiak recording three tackles for loss.

The second half was more of the same for the Gators:  Excellent passing, smothering defense.  Salzman hit Jayci Grosso in the 3rd quarter for a touchdown, as well as Bohan for her 3rd touchdown reception.  Tigres did finally break through with a touchdown when Valeria Villarreal threw a strike to Andrea Delgadillo with seven minutes to go in the game.  It was too little, too late though, as the Gators would walk away with a 27-6 victory over UANL, repeating as champions.

Congratulations to the 2018 NIRSA Flag Football Women’s National Champion:  The University of Florida!