The University California-Santa Barbara Gauchos are the 2017 Women’s National Champions. They have now won 2 consecutive titles. It is the program’s 7th overall national title. The 7 have been won in past 11 seasons. No other program has more than 3 titles.

UCSB started pool play with a 1-1 draw over Florida and won the group with a 3-0 victory over Ohio.

UCSB battled through the first 2 rounds with a pair of 1-0 victories against Vermont in the Round of 16 and Cal Poly in the quarterfinals. UCSB then began to rev up their engines with a 4-0 win over Penn State in the semifinals.

In the final against Texas, UCSB was rarely threatened. Mariela Cisneros opened the scoring with a goal in the 20th minute.  Hannah Wendelken provided a crushing 2nd goal in the 39th minute of the match to make 2-0 just before halftime. Chloe Klienman provided the 3rd and final goal 4 minutes into the 2nd half.  UCSB defeated Texas 3-0 to earn their back to back titles and 7th overall.

UCSB was led by all-tournament players, Margaret Boyer, Chloe Klienman and Erin Smith.

UCSB also had the tournament’s Most Outstanding Goalkeeper in Lauren Racioppi and tournament Most Valuable Player Mariela Cisneros.

Congratulations to our back to back women’s national champions the University of California-Santa Barbara Gauchos!