The Oregon Ducks are the 2017 Women’s Open Champions. Oregon won their first open title in their history. Oregon seemed to gain strength as the tournament went on.

Oregon opened their path to the title with a come from behind 2-1 victory over Dayton. That was followed up with a 1-1 draw over Iowa State.   Oregon was able to win their group with 2-1 victory over UConn.

In bracket play, Oregon’s defense was as solid as a team could be in the run up to the final. Oregon opened up bracket play with a 1-0 victory over James Madison.  The offense also stepped up in the semifinal with a 3-0 win over Illinois.

In the final versus Colorado “Black”, Oregon jumped out to a first half lead with a goal from Stephanie Lunde. Colorado “Black” answered with a 2nd half goal to tie the match. Meghan Schroeder found the back of the net to give Oregon the difference needed to win the open championship.

Throughout the tournament, the Ducks were led by all tournament players, Meg Rogers, Jean Elliott, Stephanie Lunde and Ty Harames.

The Ducks also had both the Most Outstanding Goalkeeper Christina Bartingale and the Most Valuable Player of the tournament Amy Shepherd.

Congratulations to our Women’s Open Champion the Oregon Ducks!