The BYU Cougars are the 2017 Men’s National Champions. They won their first national title since 2001.  It is the program’s 6th national title. No other program has more than 3.

BYU opened tournament play strongly with pool play wins over Michigan State 3-1 and Penn 5-0.

BYU opened bracket play with a Round of 16 win over 2015 national champion North Carolina 2-0. They next had a great match against NC State in the quarterfinal. BYU prevailed 1-0.  The engine began to rev up as champions do with 3-1 win over Wisconsin in the semifinals.

BYU had no problems in the final against Cal Poly. BYU opened with a tremendous run of around 30 yards through 4 defenders and a nutmeg score by Christian Bain in the 19th minute. It was the type of goal that some color commentators (or one) would label “magisterial.” 4 minutes later Tanner Whitworth would score on a header from a cross through the run of play to lead 2-0. BYU would later add goals by Cameron McLaughlin in the 58th minute and another from Tanner Whitworth in the 62nd minute to give the Cougars what they needed to win. A PK from Josh Lazar of Cal Poly in the final minutes of the match would make the final score BYU 4 Cal Poly 1.

BYU was led by all tournament players Mitchell Scott, Payden Pemberton and Taylor Fankhauser.

BYU also had the Most Outstanding Goalkeeper Austin Bagley and Most Valuable Player Tanner Whitworth.

Congratulations to the 2017 men’s national champions the BYU Cougars!